Weekly Photo Challenge – Jubilant

Jubilant

IMG_5512

This is one of my favorite moments from when I was living Spain and traveling around Europe on my own. I was wandering through the Alfama neighborhood in Lisbon, a jumbled maze of twisting streets and stairs. Every once in a while, I’d turn a corner only to see a sweeping vista of the water and or the city below, but at this particular moment, I was about to accidentally wander into two families’ joint party, thinking that the decorations were leftover from the recent Festas de Lisboa. Instead of shooing me away, the families welcomed me into their backyard, stuffed me full of delicious Portuguese food, and treated me to some wistful, almost bluesy fado music. Though all parties are expected to be jubilant, this one in particular struck me with its openness, hospitality, and pure joy to be sharing their afternoon with a stranger.

 

3 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge – Jubilant

  1. Mabel Kwong says:

    It is so heartwarming to hear at that family invited you into their home even though they did not know you. So kind and trusting of them. I hope you enjoyed the food and ate as much as you like. It is not everyday you get to try food in a different country 😀

    • criley231011 says:

      It really was one of my fondest traveling moments! And you’re right, there’s nothing like a home-cooked meal to introduce you to a country’s cuisine.

Leave a Reply

